Accountability: A Leader’s Responsibility

Today I want to share a post from a recent blog I found, Voices of Leadership. In their post, Can Leaders Be Human?, the subject of being an accountable leader is discussed. This is especially relevant given recent news stories like this one, about the difficulty that many leaders have in accepting responsibility for their actions and their mistakes.

As the post points out, as a leader it is so important that you take responsibility for your actions, hold yourself accountable and to try to learn from these experiences. It is easy to blame others and re-direct the focus of the mistake on other matters. Recently, I was heading up a project for a new product launch. As is typical in this type of situation, there are many moving parts and many different people involved in the process. When the product was announced and information was made public to clients, a major mistake was found. My initial reaction was “whose fault is this?” “who messed up?” but after taking a step back and looking at the severity and what needed to be done to fix the problem, I realized my own part in the mistake and accepted responsibility for what I should have done. But the most important thing I learned from this experience was what I can do in the future to ensure that a mistake like this does not happen again. Mistakes will still happen but I know I will be much more aware to avoid the same mistakes again.

Enhanced by Zemanta
Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. It’s not my fault! | montyrainey - August 9, 2011

    […] Accountability: A Leader’s Responsibility (thesearchforleadership.wordpress.com) […]

Leave a Reply

