Sticking to the Facts

How many times have you assumed the reason behind someone else’s actions? I know I do this all the time but, in reality, how do I know what they are thinking or what their motives are? I don’t. But I do know how their actions affect me.

In Bill Stinnett’s latest post on the Leadership Training blog, he discusses how using “I-Messages” lets us stick to the facts and start a conversation or confrontation by keeping to what you know – how the problem is affecting you.

My obligation to my colleague is to do this without speculating on his reasons or motives and to give him an opportunity to respond. In other words, I should tell the truth.

This process will decrease defensiveness and produce a more helpful response.

 

Enhanced by Zemanta
Leave a Reply

